The Journey, October 9, 2013

I have been on my weight loss journey for about 6 weeks now, and have lost 5 pounds. While I may not be down a jeans size, I am enjoying a few perks. My work clothes fit a bit more comfortably, and there is a bit more of a spring in my step. So, for these things, I am truly thankful. However, I am a bit on guard. You see, these 5 pounds and I are not strangers. In fact, we have shared an on again, off again relationship for the past couple of years, dancing a mad tango of co-dependency.

For some reason, I get to this point, this very point which I am at today, and I hit a wall. Instead of moving forward, keeping the steady one-step-at-a-time pace of the past few weeks, I run a 180 in the opposite direction. Stumbling headlong into the siren’s song of sweet addiction, I tend to panic and binge on anything in sight – even if it’s not my favorite, even if I’m full, even if I don’t really “want” it. So, today, I recognize this Rubicon, and declare this week to be the week of its crossing.

2013-10-07 12.00.17

I chose a healthy, homemade lunch today, said no to a tempting scone, and am drinking my water. I can’t really tell you why, in the past, I’ve run away from the prize at the 5 pound mark. Maybe you have, too. But, the best thing about moving forward is that we don’t have to have all the answers about the past. Today is tomorrow’s yesterday, and I tomorrow night, I will go to sleep with a smile, knowing that I am still moving in the right direction.

6 comments

  1. Just when you are headed in the right direction, something wants to stop you. Don’t let it! Combine eating right with some exercise, just don’t lose the faith.

    Like

Leave a Reply

